Wiki incomplete colonoscopy due to blockage

Best answers
I am a newer coder. I have read several posts about this today, does not appear that anyone agrees. So I am asking again. Patient was scheduled for Colonoscopy, upon performing a digital rectal exam a palpable mass was identified. Prep quality was extremely poor. I have been advised a few different things from 45100 ( rectal biopsy) to 45380-74 ( colonoscopy with biopsy - discontinued). This would be for an ASC. I was able to find guidance on MCR, however, after reading posts here I am more confused than ever. Please help.
1713280289908.png

Hi Shaughnessy
Bill the gastro CPT code chosen- 45380 then use definitive dx for Rectum mass, and dx Z12.11 last on claim. If lab results states rectum cancer is positive from results add that on claim first then Z dx code..Please note digital finger exam is bundled in, Provider cleaned out & bx colon but gastro person kept working no need for modifier 52 or 53.
I hope helped you
Lady T

Thank you so much for responding so quickly, I was thinking the same thing but got stuck on the modifiers, can you confirm no need for modifier 74 since it was not a complete colonoscopy? This is for ASC billing only.

Thank you so much for responding so quickly, I was thinking the same thing but got stuck on the modifiers, can you confirm no need for modifier 74 since it was not a complete colonoscopy? This is for ASC billing only.
If the intent was a total colonoscopy, then I would code 45380 -74 for 'ASC or Outpatient Hospital' facility coding for a procedure discontinued after admin of anesthesia or after initiation of procedure. The doctor was unable to advance the scope to the terminal ileum.
Hope that helps.